Car accidents are far too common in the state of Virginia. According to an official report, 65,029 people suffered car accident injuries in the state in 2015, which was a 2.6 percent increase from the previous year.
From handling an insurance claim to potentially taking the other driver to court, there are many things that may arise from a collision. You want all of this to go as smoothly as possible, so you need to take the right actions from the start. In the event you ever find yourself part of a motor vehicle accident, here are the things to do right away.
In the state of Virginia, the law requires people involved in car crashes to contact the police if resulting damage exceeds $1,000, if anyone suffered an injury or if there was a fatality. Additionally, a police report will help tremendously with your insurance claim. Calling 911 is also good for getting an ambulance out to the scene right away. You should check on your passengers and the people in the other car to see that everyone is okay. Even though all parties involved may seem fine, it is still good to receive an examination from a doctor.
If you are able to, get your vehicle out of the roadway. A tow truck can move your car to another location once the police file a report. Once you are out of harm’s way, you can swap insurance and contact information with the other driver. Once the police are on the scene, you also want to make sure to get their names as well as their contact information. Get a copy of the collision report.
Notify your insurance provider
You often have a day or two to contact your insurance agency to let them know about the accident. Stick to the facts, and tell your agent exactly what happened. Above all else, do not sign anything from an insurance representative. Always have an attorney look at any paperwork before you sign it.